What if?

speech1What if every time I opened my mouth to say “I,” I said something about my Savior instead?

What if every time someone praised me, I praised my wonderful Father? What if every time a conversation headed towards gossip, we all slapped our hands on our mouths, knowing the danger to which we were headed? What if college students spent more time talking about God and His Word than they do talking about the opposite gender? What if Christians could stop in a public place and pray when a need arises? What if our whole life was consumed with the goodness of our God?

Why not? Why not waste our breath on speech that is fruitful? on speech that edifies? on speech that “will not return void?” Why not waste away spreading the Gospel? Why not be wholly consumed with the marvelous goodness of our God?

I do not want fame, fortune, popularity, or success. I want to “waste away” spreading the Gospel and edifying the believer. I want to be wholly consumed with the goodness of my Father.

Psalm 119:41-45
Let thy mercies come also unto me, O Lord, even thy salvation, according to thy word. So shall I have wherewith to answer him that reproacheth me: for I trust in thy word. And take not the word of truth utterly out of my mouth; for I have hoped in thy judgments. So shall I keep thy law continually for ever and ever. And I will walk at liberty: for I seek thy precepts.

John 3:30
He must increase, but I must decrease.

Colossians 4:6
Let your speech be alway with grace, seasoned with salt, that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man.

2 thoughts on “What if?

Leave a comment